Congratulations! Catalyst wins 4S 2020 STS Infrastructure Award

We’re excited to share that Catalyst: Feminism, Theory, Technoscience has been recognized at this year’s 4S/EASST 2020 conference as the winner of the 4S 2020 STS Infrastructure Award. We hold this publication near, and are proud to be a part of the feminist STS research communities and collectives that Catalyst has nurtured through its work. Heartfelt congratulations to the journal’s lead editorial teams past and present, the editorial board, special section editors, managing editors, writers, reviewers, students, and all those whose labour has contributed to making the journal a meaningful thinking spot for scholars at all stages.

Physically hosted by University of Toronto Libraries, Catalyst was based at the Technoscience Research Unit from 2017-2019. During this time TRU members Michelle Murphy and Patrick Kielty, and colleague Banu Subramaniam acted as its lead editorial team, with crucial support provided by managing editors Rianka Singh and Nora Tataryan, as well as faculty in the Women and Gender Studies Institute and the Faculty of Information at U of T. We are grateful for all of the meaningful contributions from students and faculty who helped us grow the journal, now in its fifth year and under the care of Nassim Parvin, Anne Pollock, and Deboleena Roy. It is a moment of pride and pleasure for us to share in the celebration of Catalyst and its role in expanding the field of feminist STS.

In their acceptance statement for the award, the editorial board writes:

On behalf of all those who have poured their labor and love into conceiving, launching and building this feminist technoscience journal, the Editorial Board of Catalyst: Feminism, Theory, Technoscience is honored to accept the Infrastructure Award from 4S.

Catalyst serves as a distinctive forum for both emerging and well-established scholars to publish interdisciplinary work. Catalyst aims to publish critically engaged feminist STS scholarship that reroutes the gendered, queer, raced, colonial, militarized, and political economic beings and doings of technoscience. We would like to thank all of those who have entrusted their precious work to this new journal. We would also like to thank our extraordinary community of peer reviewers, who have helped to develop the scholarship with remarkable insight and care…

Read the full acceptance statement here.

–Kimberly Juanita Brown, Mount Holyoke; Lisa Cartwright, Professor, UCSD; Laura Foster, Indiana University, Bloomington; Aimi Hamraie, Vanderbilt; Patrick Keilty, University of Toronto; Rachel Lee, UCLA; Mara Mills, NYU; Michelle Murphy, University of Toronto; Nassim Parvin, Georgia Tech; Anne Pollock, King’s College London; Deboleena Roy, Emory University; David Serlin, UCSD; Banu Subramaniam, UMass Amherst; Sonja van Wichelen, University of Sydney; Kalindi Vora, UC Davis